Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Fuck You, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital

I love how a Dallas hospital initially blamed a nurse's "breach in safety protocol" for her diagnosis with Ebola. Nurses are continually blamed for EVERYTHING, from spreading infection to serving cold food (which really isn't my problem - but okay, I'll heat it up for you - and sure, I'll make you some fresh coffee, even though I have a patient on a bedpan and I'm sure she is pretty uncomfortable sitting on a hard plastic, trapezoid shaped device). My husband recently sat down and looked through a couple of my books and was amazed when I told him it was a tiny, TINY tip of the iceberg of recall knowledge that was enormous below the surface (FYI: ANYONE can be book smart and pass tests, but can they actually apply it in a clinical setting?) He is a chemist - he remembers the things he uses on a daily basis, which isn't necessarily everything he learned in college. I am a nurse. I am responsible for knowing everything about your diagnosis and possible treatment in a moment's recall. Nurses catch doctor's mistakes (a lot more often than you realize); nurses initiate most treatments, and more often than not, tell the doctors what the patient needs; nurses are constantly teaching the patient and family about their disease process, or what to expect when their loved one dies; nurses can recall with great accuracy just about anything you want to know about the medicines you're taking; great nurses are the foundation and glue that holds any hospital or health care facility together. We get cussed out by doctors at 3am when we call to let him know that his patient is tanking; we get vomited on, sexually harassed, and verbally/physically assaulted by agitated patients. We are the ones that provide the same dignified care to your father after his death, so your family can come in and say goodbye. We rarely get thanked when we catch a mistake or when we initiate CPR and save your brother's life, but if something unexpected happens, we get trashed. And what gets me the most is Nina Pham's employers just threw her under the proverbial bus. I wish I could tell her I am sorry for this happening to her. I hope she has a speedy recovery and is able to return to a job that I'm sure she loves. I hope she doesn't  feel the hurt and stigma of an employer who is obviously trying to cover their own tracks. You know something, Texas Health Presbyterian? FUCK YOU. Next time any of you want to thank your doctor, DON'T. Push him out of the way and grab the nurse that does his work and takes abuse from him, and tell HER thank you - because she is the one that runs the show and has your best interest at heart. Peace, OUT.